Site Overlay


Students are placed in to one of three factions: Mead (Red), Paterson (Blue) and Wallace (Yellow). The origin of the faction names are:

Mead – Henry Mead arrived in the Whitby area in 1846 and established prosperous properties in Manjedal, Medulla and Korribinjal. The windmill logo on Mead Faction T-shirts celebrates this pioneer farmer.


Paterson William Paterson was a local magistrate and an active member of the District Board of Education. In 1889, he entered Parliament as Member of the Legislative Council for Murray-Williams. He was also the first manager of the Agricultural Bank. The legal wig and gavel logo on the Paterson Faction T-shirts recognises this active local statesman and prominent citizen.


Wallace – Stephen Wallace was Principal of Mundijong Primary School from 1904 to 1913. Three of his sons also became school teachers. His son Frank was also Principal of Mundijong Primary School from 1920-1922. These school teachers are remembered by the open book logo on the Wallace Faction T-shirts.